Initial sculpture experiments

cut out

hand one

hand 2

This was the outcome of my first foray into using expanding foam. Most of the results were disappointing, as the foam didn’t expand that much and I ended up with some very smooth blob-like forms instead of the more craggy shapes I was hoping for. I am fairly pleased however with this orange, which I ripped open and filled with the foam. I think I could have used a little less foam so that more of the orange’s structure was visible but I like the strange, bloated, tumour-like protrusion, which I painted in a fleshy tone. It will be interesting to see how the object transforms as the orange rots.

I am going to continue experimenting with the foam: I would like to somehow incorporate it in the root system of a plant…

Leave a Reply

